Author Topic: #4's Whistle  (Read 11747 times)

Hansel Gordon

• Hostler
    • View Profile
#4's Whistle
« on: December 25, 2011, 04:14:36 PM »
Hi,
I was told by other MNG volunteers that #4's whistle was a B&M 5-Chime. However, while we were fireing it up last Friday i climbed on top and counted SIX holes which means it's a Boston & Maine 6-chime!!!

Bernie Perch

• Museum Member
  • Hostler
    • View Profile
Re: #4's Whistle
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2011, 08:08:28 AM »
Hansel,

Thanx for posing these photos.  I am a minor whistle nut and enjoy discussing this subject.  I appreciate you taking the time to go up on #4 to check things out.  The long bell 6 chime is one of the nicest sounding whistles in my opinion.  I own several whistles and when I was an engineer on the WK&S I used to put them on the locomotive and generally blow them too much and was reminded of that several times.  When CNJ 113 is running, I hope to enjoy them again, as there is room for two whistles on her. 

Thanx again,

Bernie

James Patten

• Administrator
  • Superintendent
  • Loco for 6
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2011, 09:05:01 AM »
I think a few people at Edaville at one time were B&M fanatics.  Our #10 came to us with a B&M 5 or 6 chime whistle.  With one pull you could see the boiler pressure drop steadily.

Bill Piche

• Museum Member
  • Fireman
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2011, 12:20:39 PM »